What are the types of illnesses covered by critical illness insurance?

Although they can differ from policy to policy, typical illnesses and diseases covered by critical illness insurance may include:

  • aortic surgery
  • aplastic anemia
  • bacterial meningitis
  • benign brain tumor
  • blindness
  • cancer (life-threatening)
  • coronary artery bypass surgery
  • deafness
  • dementia including Alzheimer’s
  • heart attack
  • heart valve replacement or repair
  • kidney failure
  • loss of limbs
  • loss of speech
  • major organ failure
  • major organ transplant
  • motor neuron disease
  • multiple sclerosis
  • occupational HIV infection
  • paralysis
  • Parkinson’s disease
  • severe burns
  • stroke

Coverage can also vary according to the degree of severity of, or conditions associated with, an illness or disease. For example, if you are diagnosed with a type of cancer that is treatable and is not life-threatening you may not be eligible to make a claim.

Coverage cannot be purchased for a pre-existing condition or illness.

It is important to read your policy carefully. In addition, be sure to ask your insurance professional to provide you with a complete explanation of your coverage.